Eating the Landscaping

ppfruit

 

It is the end of January, and I have been exercising like crazy and watching my diet. My calves always hurt, and I’m starving from eating nothing but greens and nuts. So, I got on the scale yesterday to find that I’ve GAINED four pounds. This is some bullshit. We are going on an Australian vacation next month where it will be summer and I will be in a swimsuit, so it’s imperative that I lose my Christmas weight, but instead I gained the weight of an entire other holiday that I don’t recall.

Albert and I finally tried Connie and Ted’s seafood restaurant in Weho last Friday night in the old Silver Spoon location. The place is bigger than I expected, very cool, and delicious. We also went to our friends Ken and Cary’s house for a game night, which was drunken good fun. There’s nothing like hot tubs and night swimming in January! We played something called Cards Against Humanity, which is the most inappropriate and hysterical game I’ve played in a long time. I highly recommend it, so here’s a link if you want to check it out:

http://cardsagainsthumanity.com/

The (above) picture is fruit from our prickly pear cactus. The plant is dropping them like crazy, so I looked them up online to find that they are edible and packed with fiber and vitamin C. Once you carefully remove the spiked and prickled fruit from the cactus and skin it, you find it’s also packed with seeds. The taste of the red-orange meat is actually pretty darn good, a bit like melon/papaya, but unless I’m starving to death it’s not worth the work. It’s like a pomegranate but with weapons, pretty to look at and great in a drink, but I’m not picking one apart.

I also recently went to a house blessing for my friend John Price’s new home in North Hollywood. I re-wrote some of the lyrics to “Bring Him Home” from Les Miz, to celebrate the housewarming and John’s 50th. John’s brother and nephew are really great musicians, so it turned into a sing-a-long jam session, which is always a fun night. If you want to see a bit of the evening, click the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnTl5NYQXpk&feature=em-upload_owner

Leave a Reply

