Happy New Year

RoseBowl

 

I just read in the paper today that an “extinct” shark was found at a fish market in Kuwait. While not completely gone from the earth, it is still delicious with butter and lemon.

We’re two weeks into 2014, and I’m just now wishing you a happy one. It appears I’ll be running late again this year. I’m having trouble moving forward. I mean, my last blog post was a laundry list of expired events from the past, if that gives you any idea where I stand. I suppose I’m always telling you things that already happened anyway. I’m no psychic. Moving forward however, I plan the stories to be more timely, and most of the events still running, so you could actually choose to attend them yourself if you’re so inclined.

On the 2nd, we went and saw the Rose Bowl New Years floats in Pasadena. They were gorgeous, but you can’t do that now, as the flowers are all dead. That is exactly the kind of thing I was not going to tell you about, although you could mark your calendar for next year.

Albert and I have been busy doing our New Year’s decluttering. We have a house and garage full of stuff we don’t need, but so far we have only agreed to get rid of one extra blender, a fog machine, and a broken Christmas decoration. Let the hoarding continue!

We watched the Golden Globes with a group of friends on Sunday, and they seem to have given the awards to the right people. Last night Albert and I went to see Wolf of Wall Street, and Leo and the cast are great. American Hustle and Philomena were my favorite movies of the year, however.

For entertainment in Los Angeles you just have to get outside. Friday, Albert and I went for a hike in Runyon Canyon, which is always a parade of eye candy in itself. Then, as we were driving down La Brea from Hollywood Blvd, we notice a black man taking off his clothes. My first thought was ‘crazy homeless person’, and Albert’s first thought was, “Let’s turn around!” So we do a U-turn to see the man, now totally naked, fully erect, looking at his reflection in the window, while dancing and waving his business. He seems happy and largely endowed, so I can’t be that upset for the crazy man. Instead I focus on the family of tourists walking down the sidewalk with strollers and seniors in tow, about to get a huge Hollywood welcome!

HomeStripper

One thought on “Happy New Year

  1. I would assume that this very proud well endowed homeless man was offering his very best, with hope that he might stimulate the economy with more tourism. Tell me who would not want to come and see a random BIG D swinging around in tinsel-town. After a sight like that you might spot John Travolta on the next corner.

Leave a Reply

