Murder and Mayhem

I hope everybody had a great 4th of July, and special shout out to the troops who are still fighting for freedom. Albert and I clearly made pigs of ourselves on the holiday. Thanks to Trevor and Joey for hosting a very fun pool party and BBQ at their beautiful new home. They have one of the biggest residential pools I’ve ever seen, complete with tile lane dividers. They call it the Uva-Enoch Swim Club and it is a great summer party pad. USA!

The production crew from the television show Dexter just left our house. They are scouting locations for the new season, and they’re thinking about shooting some scenes here. I love that several location scouts have looked at my house and thought, “Yes, that looks like the home of a serial killer.” The last time they were going to have somebody get murdered on my dining room table, but it didn’t work out. This time they’re eyeing my office, where I am currently typing to you, as a potential crime scene. I could not be more excited!

I have a couple of very brief reviews for you. Albert and I recently saw Warhorse downtown at the Ahmanson, which I was excited about because it won the Tony Award for Best Play. I will say that it’s a great production, but of a schmaltzy play. The puppetry and direction are really beautiful, but I found the story predictable and the dialogue wooden. Skip it.

As for movies, I’ve seen some of the blockbusters. Spiderman and Prometheus are probably worth the big screen price, and I would say MIB3 is a rental. There is one movie that is decidedly not a blockbuster, and is my favorite film of the year so far. Beasts of the Southern Wild is unique and beautiful. The story is set in a very poor neighborhood of Louisiana, and looks at the coming of Katrina through the eyes of a five year old black girl. It’s as much a poem as it is a linear story, so it will not be for everyone, but it is one of those movies that takes you somewhere unexpected. The acting by the unknowns is exceptional, and the journey they take us on is unforgettable.

Speaking of beasts, this is a picture of The Rat on the 4th of July. You might not guess he is a fatty, pushing 20 pounds, because that flag he is resting on is gigantic. It’s all about perspective, people, so I’ve decided that all my future accessory purchases will be oversized. No, my belt buckle is not a foot wide, I’m skinny!

Leave a Reply

